Hearing the Heartbeat

At 16 weeks I finally got to hear the heartbeat of our little goldfish baby (actually, baby is much bigger than a goldfish by now which is INSANE)!! Before yesterday’s appointment I had only seen the heartbeat as a flicker on an ultrasound screen. This week my midwife used the doppler machine to listen to the heartbeat out loud. Such a cool sound. I couldn’t really believe someone else’s heart was actually beating inside my stomach. It sounded at the beginning like a rhythmic wooshing, and then I guess the doppler woke the baby up and the heartbeat got faster like a galloping horse. Then the baby kicked the doppler and it sounded like radio interference….and then we spent the next 5 minutes chasing the baby around my stomach, just getting glimpses of the heartbeat for a few seconds before baby moved again. My midwife told me that this behavior is “extremely typical of boys.” She says they like to be chased. So her official prediction (coupled with her examination of my uterus and how I am carrying) is boy – but we won’t find out for sure for a few more weeks.

16 weeks, baby is the size of an avocado!

16 weeks, baby is the size of an avocado!

In other news at the appointment I was told my uterus (which normally at 16 weeks sits two inches below the belly button) is already moved up over my belly button. I am told this is common in “vertically challenged” or slimmer women (I’m pretty sure the first comment is what applies to me at this point) because the uterus has nowhere else to go but up (and out). On the bright side, my higher than usual uterus confirms that my puffed out stomach is in fact baby, and not just donuts. On the down side, it is a sign that I will likely be a massively overstuffed sausage by the time I give birth. Lovely.

Other than my appointment, not much other news this week. I’ve continued to feel sporadic little flutters and a couple sensations like a bubble popping which could either be a kick, or a gas bubble. I decided to abandon all of the crazy pregnancy diet rules and I are a caesar salad, bacon AND a turkey sandwich – gasp! Also a girl in my prenatal yoga class had her baby and Harley turned 3 today. And we are supposed to get a big storm tomorrow which I’m kind of hoping actually happens so I can just hunker down and watch bad TV and be lazy. (Who am I kidding, I’ll probably do that anyway….)

Anyway here is this week’s chart:

How far along? 16 Weeks

Total weight gain: 0 lbs (weighed in at exactly my pre-pregnancy weight at this week’s doctor appt – now the fun begins…)
Maternity clothes?  yep – for pants anyway.
Stretch marks? thankfully not yet
Sleep: Not too bad, except the night before appointments, when I don’t sleep at all
Best moment this week: Hearing baby’s heartbeat on the doppler
Miss Anything? Considering I totally abandoned the rules for what you are and aren’t supposed to eat…not really missing anything. 
Movement: Yep, still kind of sporadic though.
Food cravings: Ice cream, Taco Bell, Canned Peaches
Anything making you queasy or sick: Waking up on a bad day (go away morning sickness!)
Gender: Not yet…but finding out in a few weeks!!!! My midwife is predicting boy….we’ll see!
Labor Signs: No
Symptoms: acid reflux, indigestion, random days of nausea, lots and lots of stretching pains. I feel like I pulled every single one of my stomach muscles – YUCK.
Belly Button in or out? in (but belly button ring is out, per doctor’s advice)
Wedding rings on or off? on
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy
Looking forward to: Finding out the gender in less than 3 weeks!!!

2 thoughts on “Hearing the Heartbeat

Leave a Reply

