Bustin’ Out

It’s now week number 31, and little baby Richards is feeling not so little anymore. She is definitely a mover and a shaker, and does not seem very happy with her close quarters. She wants more space, like, now. She shares this with me by pushing as hard as she can with her hands, feet, elbows, etc. on all sides of my belly – literally causing my stomach to contort into bizarre shapes, and my ribs to feel like they are about to break. She’s even woken Dan up once while I was attempting to sleep behind him with my stomach resting against his back. She kicked so hard Dan felt it on his back and told me to roll over the other way so he could sleep. Nice. Imagine how I feel, honey.

31 weeks and baby is running out of room in there!

31 weeks and baby is running out of room in there!

Now, despite being told a few times that my belly looks small for 31 weeks – according to my doctor, I’m measuring exactly 31 weeks. However, she did say to expect another growth spurt over the next 4 weeks (last time she said that I gained 8 pounds in a month) so everything could change dramatically pretty much overnight. In other news from this morning’s appointment, baby is now head down (yay!) and she had the hiccups while they were trying to measure her heart rate. So cute.

This week was not quite as crazy as last week’s Boston adventure – but I did get to spend the weekend hanging out with Margie and baby Charlotte. We went on a small shopping excursion to Old Navy (Charlotte slept the whole time) and then we went out for lunch at Doc’s Cafe (where Dan works). Charlotte slept the entire time like a little angel until our food came and, right on cue, she started screeching.

A quick diaper change and feeding later she was happy as a clam and we even got to sample some gelato before we headed home. Once we got back to the house, Charlotte was back to fussing so I brought the baby swing we got from my dad upstairs and put her in it and she LOVED it. Watching her swing was difficult because it was making me nauseous but she loved it and that’s all that matters. Margie was so impressed she went to Babies R Us this morning and bought a swing for their house.

Charlotte being a snug-a-bunny

Charlotte being a snug-a-bunny

The best part of the night was when Charlotte was having meltdown #2 and I was able to rock her to sleep. There is seriously no more gratifying feeling then getting a fussy baby to go to sleep – especially when its not your baby. I literally felt like a hero.

Speaking of heros…I have also become a hero in the gardening arena (I guess those nurturing instincts are finally starting) and my Bleeding Heart plant that was given to me last year by my grandma as a single twig has officially quadrupled in size and taken over my entire garden. So pretty!

The bleeding heart taking over the garden

The bleeding heart taking over the garden

Not much else to report this week – so here’s the chart:

How far along? 31 weeks (9 weeks to go!)

Total weight gain: 22 lbs
Maternity clothes?  yep – just got a maternity maxi skirt and I’m in love!
Stretch marks? still not yet, but doc says to expect a growth spurt this month, so we shall see
Sleep: heartburn+sore hips = no sleep
Best moment this week: successfully rocking baby charlotte to sleep
Miss Anything? shopping for clothes that don’t resemble tents
Movement: so much. ouch.
Food cravings: mint chocolate chip ice cream
Anything making you queasy or sick: not particularly
Gender: It’s a girl!
Labor Signs: Not yet….just more Braxton hicks contractions
Symptoms: heartburn and acid reflux
Belly Button in or out? Still hanging in there
Wedding rings on or off? one is still on, took the tighter one off even though it still fits I’m worried with the warmer weather my hands will swell and it will get stuck.
Happy or Moody most of the time: happy :), tired
Looking forward to: a long weekend!!!!

One thought on “Bustin’ Out

Leave a Reply

